## Selected Papers from SBLP 2007: The 11th Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages J.UCS Special Issue

## Roberto S. Bigonha

Department of Computer Science Federal University of Minas Gerais Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil bigonha@dcc.ufmg.br

## Martin A. Musicante

Department of Computing and Applied Mathematics Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte Natal, RN, Brazil mam@dimap.ufrn.br

This special issue comprises a selection of the papers presented at XI Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages, SBLP 2007, which took place in the city of Natal, Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil, from May, 23 to May, 25, 2007.

SBLP is a series of annual conferences promoted by the Brazilian Computer Science Society. SBLP 2007, which was organized by the Computer Science Department (DIMAp) of the Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte (UFRN), in Natal, featured: (i) **two invited talks**: Modularity, Information Hiding, and Interfaces for Aspect-Oriented Languages (Paulo Borba, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil) and CDuce, an XML Processing Programming Language from Theory to Practice (Giuseppe Castagna, CNRS, Universit Paris 7, France) (ii) **two tutorials** and (iii) the oral presentation of **15 research papers**.

The Program Committee has selected the 15 technical papers from a total of 45 full paper submissions. Submitted papers came from Brazil, Germany, Portugal, France and India. Papers submission deadline was January 19, 2007, and the acceptance date March 22, 2007.

We would like to thank everyone, particularly the Program Committee, who contributed to the evaluation and selection of the papers for the special issue on Programming Languages.

> Roberto S. Bigonha Martin A. Musicante May 2007

## PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Alberto Pardo	Univ. de La Republica	Uruguay
Alex Garcia	IME	Brazil
Alfio Martini	PUC-RS	Brazil
Álvaro Freitas Moreira	UFRGS	Brazil
Ana Cristina Vieira de Melo	USP	Brazil
Andr R. Du Bois	UCPel	Brazil
André Santos	UFPE	Brazil
Carlos Camarão	UFMG	Brazil
Cecília Rubira	UNICAMP	Brazil
Christiano Braga	UFF	Brazil
David Naumann	Stevens Tech	USA
Edward Hermann Haeusler	PUC-Rio	Brazil
Francisco Heron de Carvalho-Junior	· UFC	Brazil
Isabel Cafezeiro	UFF	Brazil
Jens Palsberg	University of California	USA
Johan Jeuring	Utrecht University	Netherlands
João Saraiva	Univ. do Minho	Portugal
José Guimarães	UFSCAR	Brazil
Jose Labra	Univ. of Oviedo	Spain
Jos Luiz Fiadeiro	U. of Leicester	UK
Lucília Figueiredo	UFOP	Brazil
Luis Soares Barbosa	Univ. do Minho	Portugal
Luiz Carlos Menezes	UFPE	Brazil
Marcelo Maia	UFU	Brazil
Marco Túlio de Oliveira Valente	PUC-MG	Brazil
Mariza A. S. Bigonha	UFMG	Brazil
Martin A. Musicante	UFRN	Brazil
Nick Benton	Microsoft Research	England
Noemi Rodriguez	PUC-Rio	Brazil
Paulo Borba	UFPE	Brazil
Peter D. Mosses	University Wales Swansea	UK
Rafael Dueire Lins	UFPE	Brazil
Renato Cerqueira	PUC-Rio	Brazil
Ricardo M. Lima	UPE	Brazil
Roberto Ierusalimschy	PUC-Rio	Brazil
Roberto S. Bigonha	UFMG - Chair	Brazil

Sandro Rigo	UNICAMP	Brazil
Sérgio de Mello Schneider	UFU	Brazil
Sérgio Soares	UPE	Brazil
Sergiu Dascalu	University of Nevada	USA
Simon Thompson	University of Kent	England
Varmo Vene	University de Tartu	Estonia
Vitor Costa	UFRJ	Brazil
Vladimir Di Iorio	UFV	Brazil